Kirkwood Football Accolades Continue to Roll In

The coach and players of Kirkwood High School's first State Championship Football team receive the highest honors in the region.

Kirkwood High School football coach Matt Irvin and six KHS football players were selected by the Missouri Football Coach’s Association for the all state football team.

Head Coach Matt Irvin has been awarded as:

  • St. Louis Rams Coach of the Year
  • Class 5 Coach of the Year
  • High School Coach of the Year

For his High School Coach of the Year Award, Coach Irvin will be recognized at the 43rd Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) Jack Buck Sports Awards Dinner on Tuesday, Dec. 11. 

The KHS players nominated for the all-state football team are:

First Team offense:

  • Jordan Bishop
  • Andre Harris
  • Matt Berry

Offensive Player of the Year

  • Jordan Bishop

First team Defense: 

  • Eddie Richey
  • Tony Leachman
  • Jarrod Bishop

Defensive Player of the Year

  • Jarrod Bishop

Information provided by Kirkwood School District.

For more on the 2012 Kirkwood Football State Championship team, see:

  • Kirkwood Football Wins First State Championship
  • State Football Championship Prompts Community Celebration
  • Pioneer Pride Explodes at Station Plaza [PHOTOS]
Owen Skoler December 05, 2012 at 03:44 PM
One of my favorite moments of the celebration Saturday was when the humble Coach Irvin noted the players' accomplishments but left out his own honors. Dr. Havener made sure to say something to the crowd after Irvin left the stage. Great coach, great character.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »